The Story of the World: History for the Classical Child

The Story of the World is an award-winning history curriculum for elementary school children. Written in an engaging, narrative style, this four-volume set covers the sweep of human history from ancient times until the present. Africa, China, Europe, the Americas — find out what happened all around the world in long-ago times. Enjoy it together and introduce your child to the marvelous story of the the world's civilizations.

Volume 1 — Ancient Times
From the Earliest Nomads to the Last Roman Emperor

Covers up to 400 AD. What terrible secret was buried in Shi Huangdi's tomb? Did nomads like lizard stew? What happened to Anansi the Spider in the Village of the Plantains? And how did a six-year old become the last emperor of Rome?

Volume 2 — The Middle Ages
From the Fall of Rome to the Rise of the Renaissance

Covers 400 to 1600 AD. Who discovered chocolate? What happened to the Giant Fovor of the Mighty Blows? Why did the Ottoman Turks drag their war ships across dry land?

Volume 3 — Early Modern Times
From Elizabeth the First to the Forty-Niners

Covers 1600 to 1850. Who was the Sun King? How did samurai become sumo wrestlers? What was the Black Hole of Calcutta? And why was a California town named Ground Hog Glory?

Volume 4 — The Modern Age
From Victoria's Empire to the End of the USSR

Covers 1850 to 1994. Where was the Crystal Palace? Who was the Sick Man of Europe? And how did cow fat start a revolution?

User Reviews

Share your thoughts about this series with other users.
comments powered by Disqus